Transferable skills may save your life…or at least help you operate in a hostile work environment


Chicken road

The answer to the age-old question, ‘why did the chicken cross the road?’ has finally been answered and its related to the role of transferable skills and intellectual development post-PhD.

No, transferable (or generic as they are sometimes called) skills may not always save your life, but they’ll always be there to help you out in lots of very different situations.

This entry was posted in PhDs and employment, Transferable skills and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Transferable skills may save your life…or at least help you operate in a hostile work environment

  1. I could probably write an entire book on this topic by now.

    I already finished my humanities Ph.D. and have been unemployed for way too long. (I write about it occasionally on my blog.) And I can tell you that the whole thing about transferable skills is so true. Having a doctorate is an incredible disadvantage on the job market… to the point that some people suggest leaving it off the resume. However, I still manage to get the occasional interview while so many others are giving up in this awful employment market. (I chose the nonacademic route.)

    I can also tell you that I’d be toast if I hadn’t had teaching assistantships and other work experience during graduate school. If you don’t have those, get them; they’re better than fellowships. And if you can’t get them, volunteer somewhere. Actually, volunteer anyway; it will do you (and someone else, of course) a lot of good.

Leave a Reply

